PRIVILEGES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

(11th Meeting)

(Business conducted via electronic mail)

18th June 2012

PART A

All members were present, with the exception of Deputy J.A. Martin.

Connétable A.S. Crowcroft of St. Helier, Chairman Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator Sir P.M. Bailhache Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement Deputy M. Tadier Deputy K.L. Moore

In attendance -

M.N. de la Haye, Greffier of the StatesL. Hart, Deputy Greffier of the StatesI. Clarkson, Clerk to the Privileges and Procedures Committee

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only.

States of Jersey Complaints Panel: appointments. 1386/6/1(5) A1. The Committee, with reference to its Minute No. A2 of 23rd May 2012, recalled that the Chairman and 3 other members of the States of Jersey Complaints Panel had decided to stand down. It further recalled that, in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Decisions (Review) (Jersey) Law 1982, the States approved appointments to the Complaints Panel, from whom members of Complaints Boards were drawn.

The Committee considered a draft report and proposition proposing that the following persons be appointed to the Complaints Panel –

Chairman

Advocate Richard John Renouf (for 3 years)

Deputy Chairmen

Mr. Nigel Peter Edgar Le Gresley (for 3 years) Miss Christine Vibert (for 18 months)

Members

Mr. John Geoffrey Davies (for 12 months)

Mr. Christopher Beirne (for 3 years)

Mr. Robert Frederick Bonney (for 3 years)

Mr. Frank Dearie (for 3 years)

Mr. Stephen William Platt (for 3 years)

Mr. John Frederick Mills C.B.E. (for 3 years)

Mr. Graeme George Marett (for 3 years)

Mr. Patrick David McGrath (3 years)

The Committee was assured that the recruitment process had been overseen by the

Jersey Appointments Commission and had been conducted in full accordance with the Commission's procedures. Although the majority of the appointments would be for a term of 3 years, Mr. J. G. Davies, who had already served beyond the normal 10 year maximum period allowed by the Appointments Commission for bodies of this type, had agreed to serve for a further one year only. Miss. C. Vibert, who had also been a member of the Panel for over 10 years, would fill the second Deputy Chairman position effectively vacated following the selection of Advocate Renouf as Chairman. The latter's appointment would be for 18 months only on account of her length of service.

Several Members of the Committee recalled that between 1999 and 2003 Mr. J.F. Mills C.B.E. had served as Chief Executive of the then Policy and Resources Department. Having noted that Mr. Mills had successfully chaired a committee of inquiry during the period 2009 – 2010 and that he had not worked as a civil servant in Jersey for some 10 years, the Committee was satisfied that the nomination of Mr. Mills was both appropriate and justifiable.

The Committee noted that the Chairman was personally acquainted with Mr. Mills and, in this regard, that the Chairman had played no part in the recruitment process.

The Committee approved the report and proposition to reconstitute the States of Jersey Complaints Panel and requested that it be lodged 'au Greffe' on 19th June 2012.

The Greffier of the States was authorised to take the necessary action.